New Year’s Writing Resolutions

This January the Tin Pencil will be celebrating its 2nd birthday, and I can’t help but look back on the time that’s passed and the writing that’s been accomplished in that time. Some Tin Pencil members, who at first attended meetings merely to humor me, have transformed into impressively prolific writers. Others, like myself, have found it challenging to complete one to two new pages between meetings, and when I think of the small quantity of work I’ve completed over the last two years I’m at least comforted that it’s more than I would have done if I didn’t have the Tin Pencil meetings as deadlines.

That said, how awesome would it be if 2010 were a bit more productive? I’m sure I could make more time to write if I really set my mind to it.  I know I’d like to finally finish this last edit on my novel and send it out to some agents and then (squee! I can’t wait!) start writing the next one.

So what are your goals for your writing in 2010? Do you have a word count you’d like to hit? A number of stories you’d like to write? Are you finally going to query that agent you’ve been stalking online? At our last meeting of 2009, on December 23rd, or in the comments section here, I’d like it if we could all share our writing goals for the coming year.

And finally, how can the Tin Pencil help you meet your goals? I’d appreciate your thoughts.

3 Responses to “New Year’s Writing Resolutions”


  1. 1 patmca December 11, 2009 at 5:04 pm

    It’s been a year since I started down the bumpy road to writing and wronging it…stopping and starting…and starting over again…and again. But I think I’ve learned a lot – thank you Tin Pencilers – and can spend time next year making subtle improvements in what I’ve written and not the major overhauls that eat up so much time and confidence.

    So in 2010 I hope that the job I’ve been auditioning for all this years has a payoff and that I can find some interest in my efforts.

    I have discovered that “plot” is really my strength, and so I am going to build on that by teaching a class at Corbin on creativity and plot development during the spring and summer sessions. The Plot Thickens is designed to encourage class participation and expand creative thinking while covering the basics of plot development, characterization and POV. I hope it will be fun and get the juices flowing.

  2. 2 Mallory December 30, 2009 at 3:48 pm

    Mallory’s Writing Resolutions for 2010

    1. Finish editing my first novel and distribute reader copies by the second weekend of January.

    2. Send query letters to agents the first week of February.

    3. Finish the first draft of my second novel by the end of the year.

    4. Designate 1 hour to write every morning.

  3. 3 Sue January 8, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    Sue’s Writing Resolutions for 2010
    1. Finish book in progress, find agent, get publishing contract
    2. Get at least halfway through with sequel

    by Jan 31: complete rough draft (with emphasis on rough)
    by Feb 28: Polish and have at least two or three read and comment
    by Mar 31: Send out queries and hire agent

    Apr-Nov
    Do research as needed and work on sequel

    by Dec 31: have at least half of sequel completed, begin notes on third in series

    Means to achieve goals:
    1. Write something every day, even if it’s only a sentence.
    2. Keep notebook or paper handy to jot ideas (at all times)
    3. Read and give feedback on others’ writing
    4. Read a variety of other authors’ published works
    5. Keep up with blogs and contribute from time to time
    6. Attend as many Tin Pencil meetings as possible


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to the Tin Pencil blog!

Join 14 other followers

Meetings every 2nd and 4th Wednesday!

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Posts Categories


